There Is Absolutely No Point to a PG-13 Rated Robocop Remake – Rant

**Contains some language**

I wanna start by saying – I love Robocop. It’s one of my all-time favorite science fiction movies, however I have only seen the first. I shall see the other two eventually, but this rant is strictly about the remake of the original classic.

robocopwriter

 

I cannot state how much this angers me. Not only was I mad when I learned that they were going to remake it in the first place, but I am even more pissy that they would have the nerve to make a Robocop movie be rating PG-13. That is simply outrageous! Edward Neumeier and Michael Miner, the screenwriters to Paul Verhoeven’s 1987 low budget sci-fi film, crafted one of the most daringly original, violent, and dark screenplays ever. And that’s why so many people adored Robocop: because of it’s darkly humorous satire, it’s highly original plot, and of course the violence. People were enamored  with how gory the film was.

robocop

And that is the point. There is no reason why the remake shouldn’t be rated R, they’re just ruining the name of the original by making it PG-13. On the subject of their reasoning on why they wanted it to be PG-13 they said “there’s no reason why the new Robocop should be that gory, it can be a fun film without all of the violence”. I’m paraphrasing their original quote of course, but I hope you see what my point is here; Robocop is supposed to be violent, it’s supposed to be goddamn grimy, and dark, and gritty. It’s telling an incredibly dark story for fuck sake! That’d be like yet again remaking Dredd and making it PG, or making the upcoming Scarface remake (sources: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2066055/ ; http://screenrant.com/scarface-remake-universal-robf-132906/  ) PG-13. These movies tell an rough tale and should warrant a R rated no doubt about it. I know some will agree and others will disagree highly, but this is my opinion and I am sticking to it. I’ll possibly review the Robocop remake when it comes out, but I highly highly highly doubt that it will even hold a candle to the original.

Thank you for reading.

design_robocop2013

 

2 thoughts on “There Is Absolutely No Point to a PG-13 Rated Robocop Remake – Rant

  1. […] There Is Absolutely No Point to a PG-13 Rated Robocop Remake – Rant (itsasmallfilmworldafterall.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] some semblance of the essence and spirit of the original. Everything I’ve heard about the PG-13 RoboCop remake, directed by José Padilha and starring Joel Kinnaman and Samuel L. Jackson, leads me […]

Leave a comment