Frances Ha (2013) Review

frances-ha

Plot: A story that follows a New York woman (who doesn’t really have an apartment), apprentices for a dance company (though she’s not really a dancer), and throws herself headlong into her dreams, even as their possibility dwindles.

At first, I wasn’t so sure I wanted to see this movie. As much as Noah Baumbach impressed me with “Fantastic Mr Fox” and “The Squid and The Whale”, I was on the fence about seeing this movie. Before hand I had never experienced Greta Gerwig’s writing/acting abilities so I had no idea if she’d be good or bad. I was pretty much didn’t know what I thought about this movie till the very end, and i’m glad I stuck around.

Frances-Ha (1)

For an actress i’m very unfamiliar with, Greta Gerwig impressed me drastically with her delightful performance as Frances, a young New York woman who really is conflicted about what she wants out of her life. And we get the pleasure of experiencing such a brilliant performance from Miss Gerwig that we feel like we ourselves are in the place of young Frances. Her striking classic movie-star beauty is well-matched by her wonderful acting talent. Gerwig is backed by some fine supporting turns by actors Michael Zegen and Mickey Sumner, and most especially by actor Adam Driver.

frances-ha-dancing

Noah Baumbach’s sure-handed direction and flair for cinematography really is what drew me to this movie, especially the fact that his use of black-and-white cinematography is simply gorgeous. The soundtrack, as well, was very well composed and the songs chosen really fit the mood of the movie — I especially loved the use of David Bowie’s “Modern Love”. He really knows not only how to direct his actors the right way, but his screenplays, and this one especially, show a great deal of realistic human emotion. Gerwig and Baumbach wove together the perfect story of someone searching for who they really are and what they really want out of life deep down, and while it took a bit to get into this movie fully it was simply sublime in every meaning of the word.

My Rating: 9/10, do see this movie!

Frances-Ha-UK-poster-585x439

 

Leave a Reply

