My Official, or So I Claim, Oscar Picks – 2014 Edition

February was an odd and very off month for this blog, I haven’t posted anything in a while since February, especially mid-late February was a hectic and strange month for me. But now I’m back, from outer space. Anyway, enough of my rambling. I haven’t seen all of the Oscar nominees, or even reviewed all of the ones I have seen, but I’m here to make my official, or so I claim, picks for tonight. Brace yourself.

Official choices will be in bold. If I haven’t seen any films in a certain category, they will be left blank or not filled in. I tried to get it down to the bare minimum and only allowed myself one tie between a film.

Amry Oscar

 

[BEST PICTURE]:

“12 Years A Slave” is most likely going to win, even though I haven’t seen it yet that is probably the best bet. However, out of the ones I have seen, and this is very hard to choose but I’m going to say “Nebraska” will win Best Picture, slightly over “Dallas Buyers Club” and “Her”.

[Best Actor]:

Tons of great choices this year, but I’m going to have to give it to Matthew McConaughey, slightly over Bruce Dern.

[Best Actress]:

Out of the three nominees I have seen in this category, I’m going to go with Meryl Streep, because she conveyed the strongest emotion out of the three.

[Best Supporting Actor]:

Another hard category to choose from, but I’m going to give this one to Jared Leto.

[Best Supporting Actress]:

As much as I wanted to say June Squibb, and I really do, but I think Julia Roberts gave the slightly more powerful performance.

[Best Animated Feature]:

Despicable Me 2 is the only film out of this category I have seen, so I shall go with that one.

[Best Achievement in Cinematography]:

Phedon Papamichael for Nebraska, slightly over Emmanuel Lubezki for Gravity.

[Costume Design]:

Michael Wilkinson for American Hustle

[Direction]:

Alexander Payne for Nebraska

[Film Editing]:

Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger for Gravity

[Foreign Language Film]:

Thomas Vinterberg’s The Hunt, Denmark

[Makeup and Hairstyling]:

Adruitha Lee and Robin Matthews for Dallas Buyers Club

 [Best Original Score]:

William Butler and Owen Pallett for Her

[Best Original Song]:

“The Moon Song”, Music by Karen O; Lyrics by Karen O and Spike Jonze for Her

[Best Production Design]:

 Andy Nicholson (Production Design); Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration) for Gravity

[Best Sound Editing]:

 Glenn Freemantle for Gravity

[Best Sound Mixing]:

Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro for Gravity

[Best Visual Effects]:

Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk and Neil Corbould for Gravity

[Best Writing, Adapted Screenplay]:

N/A

[Best Writing, Original Screenplay]:

Her, Written by Spike Jonze – or Dallas Buyers Club, written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack (a tie, unfortunately could not pick between the two).

Well, there ya have it. Thanks for reading!

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

 

 

Leave a Reply

