A Small Tribute to Philip Seymour Hoffman, May He Rest In Peace

philip-seymour-hoffman-found-dead-750x420

I still keep refreshing his Wikipedia page, in utter disbelief. I just cannot believe, and accept, that Phil is gone. I was actually asleep, having been up all night, when I walked out in the living room of my house at about 2 PM on Sunday when my grandma told me that he was found dead, and my heart sank. I just stood there in shock, confused and hoping that this was a hoax as he has been one of my favorite actors of all time for quite a while.

Unfortunately it was not a hoax.

"Synecdoche, New York" Premiere - 2008 TIFF

I just can’t help but feel absolutely terrible for his partner Mary, and the three young children he had left behind. He always had an infectious smile that’d light up a room and he seemed to be like the nicest, most genuine person on the face of the planet but in the last photos of him published he just look tortured. I had heard about his addictions last year, but didnt know that they were this bad. Unfortunately he couldnt get permanent help for himself.

psh

And it just pisses me off to no end when people post on comments sections that he was a junkie, and a degenerate, and that he had it coming for “choosing drugs over his family”. How about you assholes posting comments like that get the fuck off of your high-horse and stop acting fucking morally superior to everyone. You jerks make me sick! You don’t know how bad he struggled in his mind with his addictions, no-one did but him and it’s a damn shame that you people on the message boards have to spit on this poor guy’s legacy. Shame on you!

raw_20140119_hoffman_217589_560x315

Rant over. As i’ve said, I just loved watching his interviews and hearing him speak, because he just was such an intelligent, and obviously gentle-hearted man. And that’s why I loved him as an actor and celebrity, because of his always brilliant, raw, and emotional performances, and the fact that he was always so genuine and thoughtful.

Philip-Seymour-Hoffman-Wallpapers

Without a doubt, his best performance was easily as Truman Capote in 2005’s “Capote”, but some more of his absolute best work included his captivating roles in “The Master”, “Magnolia”, “Boogie Nights”, “Owning Mahoney”, and “Before The Devil Knows You’re Dead”. In addition to always brilliant performances, he also directed the fine romantic comedy/drama “Jack Goes Boating” in 2010.

2010 Sundance Film Festival - "Jack Goes Boating" Portraits

A brilliant, intense actor, and an obviously loving father gone way before his time. Rest In Peace, Philip Seymour Hoffman – you will definitely be missed, but will always remain in my heart and the hearts of movie lovers everywhere.

philip_seymour_hoffman

Bye Phil! 😦

Leave a Reply

