Filmography Ranked: Paul Thomas Anderson

Since I’ve now seen every film that PT Anderson has made, I thought I should compile this list, in order, of his finest to weakest films. Actually to be honest he hasn’t made a movie yet that has unimpressed me in any way.

#6 Punch-Drunk Love (2002)

punch_drunk_love

My rating: 8.5/10 (as of now, I haven’t watched this movie in so long so the rating may change)

This seriocomic  dramedy released in 2002 is a great work of romantic drama that has the single best performance Adam Sandler has ever given.

#5. The Master (2012)

The-Master-la-8-6-12

My rating: 8.5/10

Slightly pretentious throughout, The Master is still an expert work of historical wartime fiction.

#4. Magnolia (1999)

th

My rating: 9.5/10

With a large ensemble cast all giving extraordinary performances, Magnolia is an epic-scaled tableau of intersecting stories set in the San Fernando Valley.

#3: Hard Eight (1996)

Hard Eight 1997 poster

My Rating: 10/10

One of the best and most impressive film debuts of all time, Hard Eight is equally dramatic and darkly comic in wonderful measure.

#2: Boogie Nights (1997)

Boogie-Nights-1997-movie-poster

My Rating: 10/10

No words can describe how much I love Boogie Nights, it’s not only one of the best movies of the 90’s but it is perhaps one of the finest written movies of all time.

Aaaand #1: There Will Be Blood (2007)

there-will-be-blood

My Rating: 10/10

A jaw dropping, awe-inspiring epic tale of greed, There Will Be Blood is without a doubt one of the finest pictures ever made, and one of the most brilliantly plotted, well-written dramas of the past 50 years.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Filmography Ranked: Paul Thomas Anderson

  1. […] Filmography Ranked: Paul Thomas Anderson (itsasmallfilmworldafterall.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Filmography Ranked: Paul Thomas Anderson (itsasmallfilmworldafterall.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

